David Fleer
Bristlecone Value Partners, LLC
12301 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 320
Los Angeles, CA 90025 USA
Work 1-877-806-4141
:: Why Bristlecone?
:: What Does CFA Mean?

What Does CFA Mean?

CFA Chartered Financial AnalystThe Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) is a globally respected, graduate-level investment credential established in 1962 and awarded by CFA Institute – the largest global association of investment professionals. There are currently more than 123,000 CFA charter-holders working in 145 countries in the world.

To earn the CFA charter, candidates must:

  1. pass three sequential, six-hour examinations;
  2. have at least four years of qualified professional investment experience;
  3. join CFA Institute as members; and
  4. commit to abide by, and annually reaffirm, their adherence to the CFA Institute Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct.

Global Recognition and Standard

Passing the three CFA exams is a difficult feat that requires extensive study (successful candidates report an average of 300 hours of study per level). Earning the CFA charter demonstrates mastery of advanced skills needed for investment analysis and decision making in today’s quickly evolving global financial industry. As a result, employers and clients are increasingly seeking CFA charter-holders – often making the charter a prerequisite for employment.

Additionally, regulatory bodies in a number of countries and territories recognize the CFA charter as a proxy for meeting certain licensing requirements, and more than 300 colleges and universities around the world have incorporated a majority of the CFA Program curriculum into their own finance courses.

Comprehensive and Current Knowledge

The CFA Program curriculum provides a comprehensive framework of knowledge for investment decision making and is firmly grounded in the knowledge and skills used every day in the investment profession.

The three levels of the CFA Program test proficiency with a wide range of fundamental and advanced investment topics, including:

  • ethical and professional standards
  • fixed-income and equity analysis
  • alternative and derivative investments
  • economics
  • financial reporting standards
  • portfolio management
  • and wealth planning.

The CFA Program curriculum is updated every year by experts from around the world to ensure that candidates learn the most relevant and practical new tools, ideas, and investment and wealth management skills to reflect the dynamic and complex nature of the industry.

To learn more about the CFA charter, visit www.cfainstitute.org.

powered by  Advisor Designs - Web Designers for Financial Advisors